New Helmet Ride

For the past couple of years I have been struggling with my helmet. The helmet is the third Shoei Dual Sport I have had and for some reason this one refused to break in. Maybe my head has changed or the manufacturing process has changed a bit. In either case I was tired of getting serious TMJ pain and a headache after only two or three hours so I bit the bullet yesterday and purchased the Shoei GT Air 2 you see below.

I spent three hours with this helmet on and had no issues. The three hours were spent driving the backroads of North Mississippi. Several of the roads were old highways that connect counties or cities. One road was the Marshall Tate road and another one was the Oxford Memphis. Tiny roads winding through areas that I haven’t been on.

On one of the country roads in Marshall County I came upon this memorial. As I drove up I thought it was about the Civil War. There are several sites associated with the Civil War and the Blues Trail. Further investigation showed it was the site where Marshall County Sheriff Osborne Bell was killed while assisting a Deputy arrest a suspect on drug related charges. The site is well maintained.

One of my destinations was to check out a pond where I frequently fish.

If you’re from North Mississippi you may recognize this pond. Currently the water is too high and muddy for decent fishing. I consider myself a novice bass fisherman and my fishing partner Hal said to have patience…my time would come. He was correct. Two weeks ago I caught two bass at 5.5 pounds and 5.6 pounds in this pond. So now I’ve moved from novice bass fisherman to lucky novice bass fisherman.

According to my wife Bottle Trees used to be a common site in the south. When Africans were brought to this country they created bottle trees from limbs found outside their quarters or house. They adorned them with glass bottles scavenged from trash piles. Blue bottle were coveted because they repelled evil and trapped night spirits to be destroyed by the morning sun.

Across this area and others as well there are many abandoned houses. I took this picture but there are several that are older in the area.

This field is close to home. Many of the fields are this color during the spring. The flowers may be Butterweed but I’m not too sure…they are pretty.

It wasn’t a long ride, 130 miles, but it did accomplish the intended outcome…to see if the helmet would cause any problems. It didn’t for which I’m grateful. It’s been a while since I posted but I hope to get in more rides this year. God bless and safe riding.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.