Lost in Mississippi – Fall Ride

 

img_1933

My wife had plans for the day so I figured it would be a good chance for a ride. It’s been a while and I need to continue learning more of this area of the country. My intended route would take me through Hernando then south to Grenada followed by various county roads up through Gore Springs, Sarepto, Pinedale, Macedonia, Holly Springs, then home to Byhalia. That didn’t work out too well, hence the title “Lost in Mississippi”. While I wasn’t exactly lost (I did know I was in Mississippi east of Grenada), I did get confused.

 

Hernando Mississippi on the north-eastern side of the town square. Hernando is a neat little place  a history bathed in the blues and at least two restaurants that I can recommend. One is the Lady Bug Bakery that has excellent coffee, pastries, and what looked to be very good sandwiches. The other is the Underground Cafe. The food is well prepare, reasonably priced, and plenty to go around.

img_1923

 

Many signs announcing “the Mississippi Blues Trail” are located throughout the state. This one is on the outskirts of Hernando.

 

img_1927

Heading south on 51 I discovered a section of the road was closed due to bridge repair. The bridge went out last year during the rains and they are just now getting around to repairing it. Motoring back to Interstate 55 I headed south and jumped over to 51 at Coldwater. A swampy area along Highway 51 south of Goldwater.

Once in Grenada I completed what business I had there and then headed east on Highway 8 toward Gore Springs. This is where it got confusing. I missed my turn on highway 9 and ended up on county road 346 that turned to dirt (no worries), got smaller (minor concern), that seemed to going in the wrong direction (according to my compass). So I backtracked to Highway 8 and headed east.

img_1930

 

Lunch was in Derma Mississippi at Uncle Cool’s BBQ, The smell was incredible but I was disappointed that I didn’t have time to sample their ribs but there BBQ burger was exceptionally good. The folks working there were extremely nice. I spent several minutes visiting with Derrika (spelling?) about places to visit and wonders to see. You’re time will come. (I recommend stopping there is you get the chance.)

img_1931

 

It was after 2 when I left Uncle Cool’s heading north. I decided to forgo county roads and head up Highway 9 north, then 9 West through Oxford, finally Highway 7 to Holly Springs. The road south of Oxford…not many curves.

img_1932

 

Cotton harvest is in. Those brightly covered tubes are filled with cotton. I motored past many harvested fields of cotton on this trip. The ride lasted just over 7 hours and covered 250+ miles. Stay tuned….

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Lost in Mississippi – Fall Ride

  1. Leta anderson

    Good blog…..beautiful pictures

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

